Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Law, Business & Economics

Chair of African Legal Studies – Prof. Dr. Thoko Kaime

Print page
Team

Welcome to African Legal Studies

The Chair of African Legal Studies is the hub for the teaching and research of “Law in Africa” at the University of Bayreuth. The Chair is unique in Germany and the first permanent chair to focus specifically on African legal systems.

The Chair’s research activities focus on international human rights law and international environment law and their interaction with the legal systems of Africa. This work is defined by its interdisciplinary research methodologies, made possible through extensive collaboration with international partners especially those based in Africa as well as close cooperation with the Cluster of Excellence “Africa Multiple”, the Institut für Afrikastudien and BIGSAS at Bayreuth.

Additionally, the Chair offers expertise in the teaching of African legal studies and the English common law. It also continues the long-established collaboration established by the esteemed Prof. Dr Ulrike Wanitzek with the DAAD-funded Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies, which offers postgraduate programmes at the University of Dar es Salaam School of Law.

Prof. Dr. Thoko Kaime
Faculty of Law, Business and Economics
Universitätsstraße 30, Building B9, Room No. 42


Webmaster: Kevin König

Facebook Blog Contact

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

RECHTS- UND WIRTSCHAFTSWISSENSCHAFTLICHE FAKULTÄT

Lehrstuhl für African Legal Studies – Professor Dr. Thoko Kaime

Seite drucken
Team

 

Willkommen bei African Legal Studies


Der Lehrstuhl für African Legal Studies ist das Zentrum der Lehre und Forschung für afrikabezogene Rechtswissenschaft an der Universität Bayreuth und ist in seiner Ausrichtung deutschlandweit einzigartig.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Lehrstuhls konzentrieren sich auf internationales Menschen- und Umweltrecht und deren Wechselwirkung mit den Rechtssystemen auf den afrikanischen Kontinent. Die Arbeit zeichnet sich durch eine interdisziplinäre Forschungsmethodik aus, die durch eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen, insbesondere auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent ansässigen Partnern sowie durch eine enge Kooperation mit dem Exzellenzcluster "Africa Multiple", dem Institut für Afrikastudien und BIGSAS in Bayreuth ermöglicht wird.

Darüber hinaus bietet der Lehrstuhl Expertise in der Lehre der afrikanischen Rechtswissenschaften und des englischen Common Law. Außerdem setzt er das von Frau Prof. Dr. Ulrike Wanitzek initierte und vom DAAD geförderte Tansanisch-deutsche Fachzentrum für ostafrikanische Rechtswissenschaften fort, das Postgraduiertenprogramme an der University of Dar es Salaam School of Law anbietet.

Prof. Dr. Thoko Kaime
Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Universitätsstraße 30, Gebäude BIX, Raum Nr. 42

Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Kevin König

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog Kontakt